Why taking a gap year is not as crazy as it seems

The Liberal Arts in Singapore

Camera 360

By Regina Hong, Yale-NUS ’17 – See bio

When I first told my family and friends that I was going to take a gap year, they stared at me as if I were crazier than usual.

 “What are you going to do for 1 year and 8 months?”

 “Isn’t it better to graduate fast and find a job quickly?”

 “Won’t you feel left out when your friends are talking about exams and studying and you are working/volunteering/job-hopping etc?” (For the record, I do feel a little strange sometimes to not be subjected to exams for a year.)

 “Isn’t it going to be a complete waste of time spent on bumming around?”

The fourth question is what I suspect most people would think of when thinking of reasons to oppose a gap year. In this blog post, I will attempt to offer reasons as to why a gap year is a…

View original post 1,302 more words

Leave a Reply

